User management is an exclusive module of MailCarry that lets the admin of the application create as many user accounts as he wants by allowing permission to perform certain tasks/actions while restricting access to some other modules/functions. The function of user management is thus divided into two parts. The first part is creating the user role by defining the set of permission and the second part is creating the user accounts. In this article, we’ll discuss the former part of creating the roles.
In this Article..
- How can I create user roles?
- Where can I manage the user account access?
From the page where it lands after clicking “Roles” under “User Management” on the main navigation, click the small button “Create Role” towards the left side of the screen.
The only field you will need to fill with appropriate information is the name you want to give to this role you are creating. It is always better to give an identifiable name according to the sort of users you’ll later add to this group, i.e. account manager, and email marketing assistant or anything like this.
Click “Save” to save the role, “Save and Add New” to save this role and add another role, and “Close” to close the window without saving the role.
How can I assign permission to a role?
The main page where you land after clicking “Roles” from the main navigation has a table that lists all existing roles and will give you the ability under Actions to assign permission to these groups.
- Name– The column is providing the name you’ve created the group with
- Created– The date and time when the role is created and saved
Under the Actions
Here comes the most critical part of a user role using which you can manage the permission and access level of the users you’ll later assign to this role. This is the first action listed under the “Actions” menu and will lead you to a separate page where you’ll be able to see a complete access control list (ACL)
Access Control List
Access control list is a function name offering you the ability to allow the role and eventually the users belonging to a certain role the permission to access and perform certain functions while restricting their access for some other functions. You can see the tasks list displayed under the function names, i.e. List (function name), Create/ View all Lists (Tasks). There are checkboxes with every function name and tasks name here with Access Control List, you can tick the checkbox to allow access to certain function or task, you can allow full-function access or can allow performing only a few tasks. By default, all roles are created with minimal access and you’ll always have to grant access level to the groups you create.
Contrary to other “Actions” menu across the application, you can’t find an “Edit” action here. It is actually replaced with a “Rename” actions since the name is the only field required to create a new role and the only field you can edit/update is renaming the earlier provided name.
Unlike the other view tables across the application where you’ve got the ability to delete one or multiple records, here with this view table of roles, you can only delete one specific record (role) by opting to delete it under the “Actions” menu.